top of page

About Ayurveda

Updated: May 23, 2022

What makes a science?

Science is sequential, methodical and practical and Ayurveda emanates all three.

It is a system consisting of natural methods, for preventative care, and natural methods for healing “dis-ease.”

In India, Ayurveda has eight branches of medicine, and has been practiced as one of their main medical systems for thousands of years. The eight branches are; Internal Medicine, Psychology, Pediatrics, Ears, Nose Throat, Gynecology, Toxicology, Surgery and Rejuvenation.

The score of Ayurveda pulses through every family in India. To this day, people use the basic principles for well being, and when healing needs to occur, automatically Ayurveda remedies will be implemented. One of the most beautiful aspects of The Science of Life, is that it supports all medical systems, and all healing modalities throughout the world. It is the Mother, the mother of all medicines.

The knowledge contained in Ayurveda deals with the nature, scope and purpose of life, and includes its metaphysical and physical aspects—health and disease, happiness and sorrow, pain and pleasure. There are numerous avenues to take for healing, and for preventive care, which makes Ayurveda so rich.

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food,” says Hypocrites.

That statement rings true in Ayurveda. Herbs, the whole system of yoga therapy, different forms of body treatments and message, aromatherapy, sound therapy, color therapy, vibrational therapy, energy work such as Marma therapy (acupressure points), cleansing therapy called Pancha Karma, and rejuvenation therapy, to name a few, are all used for staying well or returning to health.

One of the most profound, and yet most basic medicine is loving ourselves with a daily routine, called Dinacharya.

A daily routine is essential for maintaining good health and for transforming our body, mind and consciousness to a higher level. It puts us in harmony with nature’s rhythms, and establishes balance in our constitution. Find out your constitution.

According to Ayurveda, there are seven body types or constitutions: • Vata • Pitta • Kapha These three are called Mono types • Vata-Pitta • Pitta-Kapha • Kapha-Vata These there are called Dual types • Vata-Pitta-Kapha Triple type

Vata represents space and air. Pitta- fire and water. Kapha- Earth and water.

These three Sanskrit words are called doshas. This means, they are the three main psycho-physical functional principles of the body. They determine each individuals constitution and maintain the integrity of the human body. Our constitution does not change from birth to death. It is our so called genetic, DNA make up, in Ayurveda. In Sanskrit, this is called Prakruti.

We should all know our constitution, so that we can use the basic principles to keep us healthy and at peace. Find out your dosha.

These doshas get disturbed with factors such as wrong food, time of day, type of day, seasons, age, quality of water, relationships, and so on.

The doshas fluctuate, which causes imbalance. The current state of the doshas out of balance is called Vikruti. It is best to “nip it in the bud” so to speak, and focus on balancing the doshas back to the Prakruti (unique constitution), before the imbalance gets too deep. If the signals of imbalance are ignored (pranjaparadha), then it takes more effort, and it is more difficult to bring the doshas back home to the natural state of balance, which is your constitution (Prakruti).

Download the assessment form to find out your constitution.

21 views0 comments


bottom of page